More Authentic, Less Fearful

Why do we do what we do?

 

This question has been almost ubiquitous to me recently, showing itself in many different forms. Mostly, I see it through social media, the window to people’s thoughts in the twenty-first century. Especially in cases of politics and religion (which seem uncannily and most regrettably similar in most people’s minds), the woeful rants and Jeremiads abound.

 

Dissatisfaction with the current political clime has let to several states comically threatening to secede from the country. Sportsmanlike conduct, noble in both victory and defeat, is abandoned to anyone who was to actually sign these petitions. Like a toddler throwing a tantrum, compromise is out of the question; we’d rather take our gloves and march off the field in blatant and immature defiance than work towards bettering an undesirable outcome. Because I didn’t vote for who sits behind the desk of the Oval Office seems the primary and only reason for signing the secession. We have the right to secede. This is America, after all. …oh wait; that’s the point petition-signers are fighting against.

 

I am inspired by the strength of people’s faith when they decide to post on Facebook or Tweet about it. However, when the message is “Believe this, or else…” my heart breaks a little bit. A message based on fear is not sufficient. Even and especially regarding faith, fear/guilt is not a valid tactic for conversion. If the answer to why you believe what you believe is based on guilt or fear, you are making no converts; and more importantly, you are not in the right frame of mind.

 

Fear that a tyrant leads the US and guilt that you don’t sacrifice enough to appease your god are shadowlike reactions. Being thoughtful, slowing down, and shining a light on them will reveal that they aren’t substantial responses.

 

Feeding Christians to lions if they didn’t worship Caesar as a god, threatening to condemn people to Hell and to torture for printing a Bible in the vernacular, and protesting the “God loves dead soldiers” next to a veteran’s funeral don’t make authentic, genuine believers out of anyone.

 

Threats simply do not work to change people’s minds and hearts. I think it’s time to start being real.

 

Being  willfully less than genuine seems to be a characteristic that humanity shuns. Voters are appalled by a candidate who flip-flops on issues, constant lying is a universally ignoble act, being “fake” is an insult arbitrarily dealt by by teenage girls to each other, on any list of manly characteristics “being honest” is normally towards the top, etc., etc.

 
As a group, people seem to gravitate toward what seems real and genuine, instead of what seems forced on them by fear or by guilt. 
 
This doesn’t just make sense to me; this theme is pivotal to what kind of person I want to be. More authentic, less fearful.
 
Those familiar with my writing and speaking know that I am always talking about this theme: being authentic. It’s so redundant that it seems aggravating. What put so much stock into this sole character trait? Authentic/genuine/honest… That sounds good, but there are so many other good character traits to look at: bravery, friendliness, piousness, etc. Why limit my scope?
 
Maybe the reason I choose to focus on being honest and genuine has something to do with my own story. As I progressed through childhood knowing that I was becoming less and less independent physically, I let the fear of what would happen in the future and the guilt of not being the pristine boy everyone wanted me to be stagnate me. Both the fear of the future and the guilt of not meeting the expectations of the past kept me from living in the present.
 
Honestly, this was a heavy burden to carry.
 
Only in the process of living in the present did I finally feel unburdened and I finally enjoyed life.
 
Realigning my life authenticity at its center has been very beneficial for me. And, perhaps egotistically, I think that is important in all major facets of life. Whether we are learning, exploring politics, or trying to find this God-person, it’s very important that we not be persuaded by either guilt or fear.
 
I’m not saying that guilt or fear don’t exist or that they’re not parts of our lives. What I am saying is that reality supersedes fear and guilt. When pondering anything that’s important, I hope that I am not swayed by these two.
 
And I the most authentic or honest person there is? Do I never lie? Should I be upheld as a pillar of authenticity?
 
Nah. I’m working on it, but nah. I’ll just do my thing, and hopefully improve along the way. And I hope that you do the same. Just be genuine about it.
 
27 horses.

About verboseguy

I'm sort of an introverted guy. I don't have much to say in groups of people. But engage me in something I am passionate about - existentialism, God, idealism, Invisible Children, free will, books, Catholicism, movies - and you'll see how verbose I can be.

Leave a comment